USDA approves the first state and tribal hemp production plans


Three states and three tribal governments have had their hemp production plans approved by the USDA.


Photo ©

The U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA) has updated a website tracking the status of state and tribal hemp production plans. So far, three states and three tribal governments have had their plans approved by USDA. Of the states, Louisiana, New Jersey, and Ohio have plans approved. Of the tribal governments, Flandreau Santee Sioux, La Jolla Band of Luiseno Indians, and Santa Rosa Band of Cahuilla Indians have plans approved.

Seventeen state plans and 11 tribal plans are under review, while eight states and five tribes are still drafting their rules. Four states will continue to operate under the 2014 Farm Bill as hemp pilot programs. These states include Maine, Minnesota, Missouri, and New Mexico. Maryland will use USDA’s default hemp rules.

In October, USDA published its interim final rule for its Domestic Hemp Production Program, and opened up a public comment period. The high volume of responses prompted USDA to extend the comment period to January 29, 2020.

Related Videos
Related Content
© 2024 MJH Life Sciences

All rights reserved.