International Stevia Council Elects New Board Members

Published on: 

Cargill's Zanna McFerson is the association's newest president.

The International Stevia Council, a trade association representing the interests of companies working with stevia, has elected new team members at a recent meeting in Stockholm:


  • President: Zanna McFerson (Cargill)

  • Vice President: Carl Horn (Real Stevia)

  • Treasurer: Sebastian Winkelhaus (Verdure Sciences)

  • Board members: Larry Fernandes (Ingredion) and Jordi Ferre (Pure Circle)


“As the authoritative voice for the global stevia industry, the International Stevia Council set an ambitious agenda for the upcoming year,” said the association’s executive director, Maria Teresa Scardigli. “A primary focus involves increasing outreach on the benefits of stevia extracts in foods, as well as expanding the Proficiency Testing Program, which supports companies in their compliance with food regulations by improving their analytical methods.”

Scardigli says the association is also planning an International Stevia Council Forum, presumably open to the public, for 2013.