Natural Products Association Announces 2013 Award Winners


Award winners will be honored during the Natural Products Expo East trade show, taking place in September.

The Natural Products Association (NPA; Washington, DC) has announced the winners of its 20th annual NPA Awards honoring individuals and businesses in the natural products industry. Award winners will be honored during the Natural Products Expo East trade show, taking place September 26-28, 2013, in Baltimore. For more details about the winners, visit

President’s AwardScott BassWashington, DCThe President’s Award recognizes an individual who has made longtime contributions to the natural products industry, or has made a one-time, uniquely significant impact on the industry. This year’s winner is Scott Bass, who heads the Sidley Austin LLP Global Life Sciences team, coordinating pharmaceutical, medical device, food and dietary supplement matters in the United States, Europe and Asia. He has worked on dietary supplement issues for more than 20 years, playing an integral role in drafting the Dietary Supplement Health and Education Act (DSHEA) and the Adverse Event Reporting (AER) law.

Burton Kallman Scientific Award Paul M. Coates, PhDBethesda, MD
The Burton Kallman Scientific Award recognizes individuals who have made outstanding scientific contributions that have benefited the natural products industry. This year’s recipient, Paul M. Coates, Ph.D., is the director of the Office of Dietary Supplements (ODS) at the National Institutes of Health (NIH).

Rachel Carson Environmental Award William McDonough Charlottesville, VA
The Rachel Carson Environmental Award honors individuals who have made outstanding contributions to the protection of the environment. The winner for 2013 is William McDonough, a globally recognized leader in sustainable development.

Industry Champion Award
Industry Champion Awards recognize individuals who have made notable contributions to the natural products industry above and beyond commercial success. There are two recipients for 2013:

  • Mark Blumenthal, Austin, TXBlumenthal is the founder and executive director of the American Botanical Council (ABC), an independent, nonprofit organization dedicated to disseminating accurate, reliable, and responsible information on herbs and medicinal plants.

  • Pat Sardell, Corvallis, OR.Sardell is co-owner of Country Vitamins, an independent retail dietary supplement store, as well as past president of NPA. She also was actively involved in the efforts to pass DSHEA.

Lifetime Achievement Award
Lifetime Achievement Awards are given to individuals outside the natural products industry who have served as allies to the natural products industry in the political and legislative arena. There are two recipients for 2013:

  • Edward Long, PhD, Washington, DCDr. Long is an expert in health appropriations and policy, becoming a vice president with Van Scoyoc Associates Inc. in January 2009, following a distinguished and varied career in appropriations and public health consulting and on Capitol Hill.

  • Jack Martin, Washington, DC Martin is a former FDA executive, congressional staffer and longtime political consultant who specializes in health, drug, and food policy.

Clinician Award David Winston Broadway, NJ
Clinician Awards are presented to health care practitioners whose work exemplifies the best standards and dedication to responsible holistic, noninvasive and integrative, complementary and alternative medicine modalities. This year's winner is David Winston, RH (AHG), an herbalist and ethnobotanist with almost 40 years of training in Cherokee, Chinese and Western herbal traditions.

Socially Responsible Retailer Award Nature’s Bin Lakewood, OH
The Socially Responsible Retailer Award recognizes NPA member companies that excel in integrating social responsibility in multiple aspects of their businesses including volunteerism, education, employee empowerment, environment and health. This year’s honor goes to Nature's Bin in Lakewood, OH.

Related Videos
Nils Hoem and Nutritional Outlook editor Sebastian Krawiec
Related Content
© 2024 MJH Life Sciences

All rights reserved.