2011 AHPA Award Winners

Who were the most influential players in herbal products?

At last week’s Natural Products Expo West show in Anaheim, California, the American Herbal Products Association (AHPA; Silver Spring, MD) announced the winners of its 2011 AHPA awards.

Here they are:

Herbal Hero Award: Edward J. Fletcher, COO of Strategic Sourcing Inc. (Reading, PA), member of the AHPA raw materials committee, the advisory council of the National Center for the Preservation of Medicine Herbs, and the botanical advisory panel of the United States Pharmacopeia. Herbal Industry Leader Award: NOW Foods (Bloomingdale, IL). Herbal Insight Award: Members of the expert advisory council for revisions to AHPA’s Botanical Safety Handbook. The handbook provides safety information (e.g. side effects, special warnings) for herbal product labels. Visionary Award: James A. May, CEO of Wisdom Natural Brands (Gilbert, AZ) and founder and president of the SweetLeaf stevia brand.