NPA Announces 2012 Award Winners


Honorees include developers of natural certification standards, academic leaders, and community developers.

The Natural Products Association (NPA; Washington, DC) has announced this year’s NPA Award winners, who will be honored for their individual achievements at the NPA Marketplace tradeshow in Las Vegas this June.


President’s Award: Michael T. Murray, ND

Murray is director of product development and education for Natural Factors (Everett, WA). Also a graduate and faculty member of Bastyr University, Murray has authored numerous books on dietary supplements and ingredients, including “The Pill Book Guide to Natural Medicines” and “The Encyclopedia of Healing Foods.”

BurtonKallman Scientific Award: James E. Simon, PhD

Simon is the current director of new use agriculture and natural plant products at Rutgers University. He has published more than 100 scientific papers, books, and reviews relating to new crops, aromatic and medicinal plants, and nutraceuticals.

Rachel Carson Environmental Award: Will Allen

Allen is best known as founder and CEO of Growing Power Inc. (Milwaukee), a nonprofit organization focused on supporting community-based food systems through education, workshops, and hands-on demonstrations.

Industry Champion Awards: Keith Kantor, PhD; Patrick Rea; Drake Sadler; Curt Valva

Kantor is CEO of Service Foods Inc., a shop-at-home food service specializing in all-natural meats and organic vegetables. Kantor helps develop standards for NPA’s natural certification program, focusing on meat and poultry applications.

Patrick Rea is the editorial director and publisher of Nutrition Business Journal.

Drake Sadler is co-founder and board chair for the herbal medicine company Traditional Medicinals (Sebastopol, CA).

Curt Valva is general manager of personal care company Aubrey Organics (Tampa, FL). Valva was a recent member of Natural Products Foundation board of directors and was a co-developer of the NPA natural standards for personal care products.

Clinician Awards: Dr. Leanna Standish, Joseph Pizzorno, Jr., ND.

Standish is the current medical director of the Bastyr Integrative Oncology Research Clinic in Keymore, Washington. She is also a clinical professor for the School of Public Health at the University of Washington.

Pizzorno Jr. is founding president emeritus of Bastyr University and editor of Integrative Medicine: a Clinician’s Journal. Pizzorno Jr. was also appointed the Clinton adminstration’s White House Commission on Complementary and Alternative Medicine.

Socially Responsible Retailer Award: Jimbo's Naturally!

The final NPA Award goes to this San Diego-based natural foods grocery store emphasizing local and organic produce.

Related Videos
Nils Hoem and Nutritional Outlook editor Sebastian Krawiec
Related Content
© 2024 MJH Life Sciences

All rights reserved.