Brain Health and Kids: Lutein & Zeaxanthin’s Role in Cognitive Control and Academic Skills

September 26, 2019

Register free: https://www.nutritionaloutlook.com/no_w/influence

Event Overview:

Children in North America and globally eat few vegetables, resulting in low intakes of important nutrients such as lutein and zeaxanthin. The selective accumulation of lutein and zeaxanthin in the brain has led to research looking at the implications of lutein and zeaxanthin status and children’s cognitive function. This webcast will feature Naiman Khan, PhD, RD, Director of the Body Composition and Nutritional Neuroscience Laboratory at the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign. Dr. Khan will share data on the influence of lutein and zeaxanthin status on important measures of cognitive performance, memory and academic achievement during childhood.

Key Learning Objectives:
• Understand the development and importance of attentional control and memory in childhood
• Recognize the influence of health factors such as diet quality on cognitive abilities among pre-adolescent children
• Understand recent research on lutein’s role in cognitive performance, memory and academic achievement during childhood

Speaker: Dr. Naiman Khan, Director of the Body Composition and Nutritional Neuroscience Laboratory, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

Time and Date: Thursday, September 26, 2019 at 2pm EDT | 1pm CDT | 11am PDT

On demand available after airing until Sept. 26, 2020

Sponsor: Kemin Human Nutrition and Health

Register free: https://www.nutritionaloutlook.com/no_w/influence